I Accidentally Tri-ed

It started with a library book. When I read a good book, I can’t put it down until it is finished. I stayed up till nearly 1AM Tuesday night reading my library book even though I had 10 more days before it needed to be returned. Staying up till 1 am to read made me very unwilling to wake up at 5 am to run. My easy fix was to run after work when the hubby and kids were far, far away.

Once I got home from work that library book started staring me down. It said in a lilting voice, “It’d be a shame to miss out on all that uninterrupted reading time on the train Friday night.”  It was nagging me.  I had to go to the library.  But how to co-ordinate it with my run?

Should I run with the books? No.

Should I carry them in a pack? No.

Should I return them now and get a new one when I’m done? Sweaty? Eew.

Should I take a long warm up walk? Maybe…?

What about when I leave the library? Walk back home?

I was whining to myself about how long that would take when the answer, had it been a snake, bit me.

Hello?!? Bicycle!

Twenty minutes later, the bike was back in the garage, the new library books were on the counter, and my VFFs and I were off running through the town. It ended up being a mile shorter than I wanted but it was nice having that errand taken care of.  Books can be sooo persistent. 

With just one mile left to go, my plan was to take off my VFFs. I would just run a couple of blocks then walk the rest of the way if my pampered toes could handle it. To my delight, the concrete felt like velvet against my skin. I ran the entire last mile home in my bare feet. I even got whistled at!

I was soaking in sweat when my feet hit the driveway. I needed/wanted a rapid cool down. I popped open the pool gate and climbed into the pool with all my running gear still on. (except the VFFs!) It was sensational.

It struck me funny because I rode my bike, ran, and was now swimming. It was a mini tri-event. Ok, my pool is a circular, above ground pool that makes swimming laps pointless so it was more like frolicking than swimming.

Regardless, thanks to that library book tempting me then nagging me, I completed a tri event! On accident!

Accidental Tri
2 miles on bike
5.3 miles running (1 mile was bare)
Several minutes frolicking

1 Comment

Filed under cycling, running, swimming, Vibram Five Fingers

One response to “I Accidentally Tri-ed

  1. In 1935, Vitale Bramani led an expedition into the Italian Alps. The climbers used heavy, hobnailed boots for the approach, but then switched to thin-soled rock climbing boots for the assault. These climbing boots proved fatal when the expedition was hit by thick fog and a blizzard. Six climbers died from frostbite and exposure. It was this tragic experience that drove Bramani to create an all-purpose climbing sole: lightweight, long-wearing and flexible. He developed rubber compounds with excellent traction and high abrasion resistance. He designed a new lug sole and called it Vibram , after his own name. Vibram soles have gone on to conquer Mt. Everest, indeed since 1962 Vibram soles have been on the shoes of K2 conquerors and still now the interest for the competitive ascent and researching the Himalayas and on Karakorum is very much alive. Vibram often takes part in the expedition organized by the CNR (Italian National Research Council) to reach what many define as “the roof of the world”: Everest. On this mountain, at the altitude of 16,568 feet, is the laboratory “Pyramid Observatory”. This facility was created for the purpose of developing high-altitude scientific and technological activities for testing products and executing medical and physiological research. Vibram had detailed studies done on its new products at the Pyramid. By relying on the great experience of the mountain-climbers and technicians of world renown laboratories, Vibram conducted tests whose results are considered absolute, the utmost safety guarantee for mountain climbers throughout the world. Vibram soles have gone on to become a legend throughout the world. Yet, the search for better soling products has never stopped. Vibram soles are now found, not only on boots, but on a whole range of fine casual, service and dress footwear. Look for the distinctive Vibram octagon with the Vibram name inside; it’s the symbol of excellence. Today, the Vibram brand is recognized worldwide as the leader in high performance soling products for outdoor, dress casual, and service footwear.Vibram FiveFingers is a radically new paradigm that could only come from a company with our dedication to product innovation, integrity, and genuine performance.

Leave a Reply

