Summer Dishing Party

It’s another Dishing It party over at Serenity Now Thanks to Lynette at A Hodge Podge of Randomness  for letting me know it was happening.

Reading is by far one of my favorite pastimes. Once my sister got mad at me while we were travelling on a train to Scotland because I refused to put down my book and look out the window. She was probably right but I was powerless to exit the fictional world until that last page was turned.

~Give us your list of top 5 picks for summer reading.

This summer I have been reading more than I have been able to manage for the last several summers.  I’m not sure if it is because my kids have grown more independent or if I’m just more inclined for escapism.  Essentially, I’ve been reading my top four simultaneously.

  1. My first choice this summer has been the Sookie Stackhouse novels.  Straight up for the pure entertainment of it.  I’ve read more than 5 this summer.  Maybe it isn’t the most thought provoking stories but I just can’t seem to wait to get my hands on the next one. 
  2. My kids are old enough that I don’t have to read Good Night Moon anymore.  However, my next choice still falls into the kid category.  Together, with my two sons, we have been reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Lightening Thief.  It is a 300 some page book so it isn’t something you can finish in 30 minutes.  I like reading the modern day spin on the Greek gods and their stories.
  3. My oldest son and I were reading the 39 clues together last spring.  I made the mistake of taking too long to acquire the next book and he lost interest.  I, on the other hand, remain firmly enthralled.  Perhaps part of it is the travelling aspect of the books.  It’s my 40th birthday wish to take another trip to Europe.  Until that happens, I will have to travel vicariously through Dan and Amy.
  4. The Lily Bard mystery series was written by the same author as the Sookie Stackhouse novels, Charlaine Harris.  If you want mystery without all the vampires then I’d look into the Lily Bard series. 
  5. When I’ve exhausted the first 4 choices, which may or may not happen this summer, then I plan to pick up another book by the UK author Tom Holt or a Christopher Moore book that has been recommended.      

 ~What genre of literature makes you want to pick up a book and read

Mostly, I read chick lit but I do find myself becoming bored with them if I read too many in a row.  I throw in a couple of other types just to mix it up.  Mostly, it has to be light reading.  I’m reading to escape everyday life and don’t want to over tax my brain on my free time. 

 ~What are your favorite magazines?

I’m not good with magazines.  I think they are too busy to keep my attention.  If I am going to read a magazine, it will be about running or health/fitness.

 ~If you had to be stuck on a desert island with any fictional character, who would you choose?

This was hard for me to find someone to hang with on a desert island.  Perhaps spending some time with Anne of Green Gables would be worth the desert island.

 ~How do you make time to escape into a good book?

I have to be careful because once I start reading I do not want to stop.  I will read into the wee hours without much notice.  It is easy when I am travelling for work because I have several hour plane rides and evenings in the hotel by myself.  At home, I read after the kids have gone to bed and the hubby is watching TV.  I’m not all that thrilled with TV shows these days so I figure reading is a much better use of my time.

 ~What’s your favorite place to get your books?

I’ve been going through books so fast this year that I couldn’t afford to get my fix if it wasn’t for the library.  It is difficult to take when they don’t have the next book in the series but if I’ve just borrowed the last 5 then I figure I can splurge on one or two from the store.

 ~What’s next on your “to-read” list?

I need to finish Percy Jackson, 39 Clues, and a Lily Bard then I am going to pick up the latest Sookie Stackhouse.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Summer Dishing Party

  1. Thanks for stopping by and joining the party =) And now that I know you blog, I’ll probably be stalking you lol!

  2. I’ve heard of Sookie Stackhouse, but never read anything by her. Her? I’ll have to check it out.

    My daughter read the Percy Jackson last year for school and has LOOOOVED all of them.

  3. Hi there!! I looooved the Sookie Stackhouse books, although the last one was kind of slow for me. Can’t stand the TV show though…too many differences and the characters aren’t as good looking as they are in my head. 😉

    You’ve got a good list going on. Hope you’ll stop back by and check out my list too.

    Thanks so much for joining the party. Hope you have fun “mingling.” 🙂

  4. Great picks! I love that you read along with what your kids are reading. I plan to do that too and if you get a chance to visit you will see that my two are currently preschoolers!

  5. I loved the Sookie Stackhouse series…something about them just “sucks” you in…sorry for the pun. I have also read the Lily Bard series and love it too. I can’t wait until my son is old enought that we can read novels together. We are still in the Good Night Moon stage. Thanks for sharing!!

  6. Chick lit is my favorite! I think it’s great that you are still reading with your kids! Hopefully my girls will still like me enough that we can continue reading together in the future! Stopping by from Amanda’s!

  7. Jan

    Just stopping by from Amanda’s Dishing It party! I LOVE the Sookie Stackhouse series too! I put it on my list as well. I missed Amanda’s deadline but still made my post at http://thesimpler-life.blogspot.com/2010/07/books-books-books.html

Leave a Reply

