Let It Grow

I was born into a large extended family. To be more precise, I was born into two large extended families. I have 22 cousins on one side of the family and 24 cousins on the other side. My cousins ages range from 20 to 60. I’m closer in age to some of their children than I am to them.

Last year, my cousin’s 20 something daughter threw an elaborate wedding reception promptly after a private ceremony on the beach. Jessica, the bride, is your typical pretty girl-next-door type accompanied by long barbie blond hair. For the ceremony she had her hair swept up into an elaborate wedding day style but nicer.

It struck me as strange, though, when we ran into her the next day at the hotel and she informed us that she was cutting her hair off the next day. Who could just go cut off a that gorgeous blond hair? Locks Of Love, that’s who. Jess hadn’t been growing out her hair for the wedding, she’d been doing it for charity. She’s had me thinking ever since.

Here’s my report for Amanda’s Show Me The Progress Party that took place last week. See yesterday’s post as to why I’m late, again.

I haven’t cut my hair since before Labor Day 2009. It was so short it was almost a boy cut. I got a lot of compliments on it but most of them were Southern. Both my husband and I felt it just wasn’t feminine enough for me. I’ve been back and forth on whether to cut again. My hair is in pretty good shape considering.

A couple of months ago, I realized that I was about half way to Locks Of Love required 10 inches. With only a little concern about how I’d look with limp, flat, long hair, I made a silent commitment to go the full 10 inches. I’m hoping I won’t have to wait another year.

Leave a comment

Filed under personality flaws

Leave a Reply

