Summer Rewind

Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me want to buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. -Joe Fox, You’ve Got Mail

It’s not quite fall but it is time for school supplies in our house. I have to agree with Joe, I have magical memories of the end of summer when it was time to prepare for school. The excitement of seeing friends again overcame the sadness of losing summer.

Now that I am older the seasons sort of blend together. If it weren’t for wretchedly hot, humid days, I would hardly know it had been summer. Perhaps that is why Amanda choose Summer Rewind as this month’s Dishing It theme. You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone but you need to recognize you had it in the first place!

First of all, my summer didn’t go much the way I had anticipated. That turns out to be tragic and not tragic at all. After my son fell and cut his eye in January, we were expecting a summer full of surgeries (cornea transplant and cataract), doctors visits and eye drops galore. That would also mean a whole summer of highly restricted activity for Mik. No running, no jumping, no swimming, no, no, and no.

After contracting orbital cellulitis and endophthalmitis (serious infections) in April, Mik pretty much lost all chance of having any vision in that eye. It was devastating at first but by early June he’d been given full activity clearance. He could even get his head wet. I seem to recall him saying, “This is the best summer ever!” Now, other than appearance, it’s like it never happened. My son is right back to being the kid he was meant to be. Those first six months this year were pretty boring for a nine year old boy, so, he made up for it! That is why our summer was not tragic…at all.

Still knows how to grow a chocolate mustache

Best Activity- Cub Scout Day Camp
The boys always love when I get involved and participate in their activities. I want them to have a much better scouting experience than I had as a kid which would only require having a leader just show up. So, I reserved some vacation days and volunteered to be a staff member at Day Camp. I ran the team sports area. I must say that it was a lot of fun for me too. I even took my own water gun. Plus, I got a chance to make a couple of non-athletic boys feel good about themselves and playing “sport” games.

Loaded and ready to go

Family Trips- The Upper Pennisula
Normally, we don’t take big vacations in the summer. We spend a lot of time at the Latvian campground in Michigan resulting in mini-trips nearly every weekend. This year, we figured we’d earned a big summer trip. We took the boys to Mackinac (Mackinaw) Island and the U.P. We ate fudge, ice cream and salt water taffy. We crossed the mighty Mackinac Bridge. We toured Grand Hotel, Fort Mackinac, The Shipwreck museum, and Tahquamenon falls. We played in mother nature’s water park in the waters of Lake Superior. And, last but not least, we visited an old, old friend. Then we made it back to the camp for the Fourth of July. I’d show you my pictures but there was an incident a week later involving my iPhone and my pool. I got the phone to work again but lost the pictures except the ones I had uploaded to facebook.

Most exciting thing- er, make it Most Exciting Race – Catfish Days 5k
Ok, it was my only race but it still feels good to know I finished in first place (for my age group). My first VFF race with a time of 25:45.

Activity you did the most? – Running and Pooling
It was a hot summer making the pool just the right temperature for all the most important times. My kids are spoiled rotten now because they think 87 deg F is a bit too refreshing! However, last night, the pool was 93 deg F. I had to get OUT of the pool to cool off! That is just wrong.

What’s left to do? What won’t get done? -Lots!
Six Flags Great America
Indiana Dunes
Water Park

Hmm… I guess there wasn’t that much anyway… Yes, we had a great summer and I am going to miss it.

5 Comments

Filed under Eye Injury, Michigan, running, Vibram Five Fingers

5 responses to “Summer Rewind

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your son’s eye injury, but glad to hear he was able to enjoy his summer after all! The pool down the street from us seems to be a bit warm too. I guess that’s what no shade will do. 😉

    Thanks so much for linking up! Hope you are having fun visiting around. Don’t forget to swing by and leave me a comment too. 🙂

  2. So glad things worked out for your son to enjoy a wonderful summer! I’m sorry that he lost his vision in that eye, but I’m grateful that his vision in the other eye is apparently good!

    You’re wonderful to work at Scout Day Camp. When my middle son was a Tiger Cub, that particular troop had a rule about Day Camp–your son couldn’t go unless you volunteered to work at least one day. Turned out to be a really fun time for everyone! And now that little Tiger Cub of mine is about to be a senior in high school. I’m grateful I have those memories!

  3. So glad Mik is doing okay. Children can overcome things more easily than us grown ups.

    I had always worried about my children’s teeth and what would happen but one son would play hockey on a pond and knock out two front teeth. And he was in college and should have know to wear protection.

    Killingly hot here too!.
    Nancy

  4. What a cutie pie! My son is just 5 months. I can only imagine what you’ve been through caring for your son during his injury. And congrats on 1st place- that’s awesome!

  5. Pingback: A New Eye: Steps 3 – Complete « A Rose By Any Other Name Blog

Leave a Reply

