Diary of a Barefoot Runner

Dear Diary,

The gig is up. I wore my Adidas shoes to work for two days and loved it. After all my protests of love for going bare, how could this happen? It would take too long to tell you but yesterday I ran for three miles in my VFFs without any pain. So, if I have to sufficate my feet in Adidas for 8 hours every day, I’m going to do it.

Ok, I have to explain a little bit because I can’t just come out and say I love shoes without explaining. I have been having aches and pains in my ankles. I stubbornly refused to believe it was from running barefoot because my feet and ankles never hurt while I’m running bare. Turns out, I might have been right. (Did you expect me to say something different?) I noticed, however, that my feet and ankles were hurting after standing in the lab all day long and only after standing all day long. So, I swallowed my barefoot pride and put on those wretched conventional running shoes to wear in the lab. Well-la. No pain in my ankles. I’m pretty sure that I am just a lazy butt who leans into the counter in the lab when I am working there. Thus, the ankles were held at odd angles for long periods of time. Thus, pain.

One of the good things about going completely bare all this time is that I had a much easier time correcting my stride in my Adidas. So, even though I had shoes on, I was still mid-foot striking. (I’ve always wanted to be Striking!) I’ll probably continue wearing the Adidas to work so that I don’t have to spend money on shoes. I also have EVERY intention of running in my VFFs again tomorrow.

Yee-Haw! I can’t wait.

2 Comments

Filed under Barefoot, Vibram Five Fingers

2 responses to “Diary of a Barefoot Runner

  1. I know this is gonna sound stupid, but what is VFF? You mean you really run barefoot? Seriously? I walk around my house barefoot and my heels are killing me by the time I go to bed. How do you do that? Obviously, I am not a runner.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a comment