Don’t Tell Anyone What You Like, Ever!

There was a time about 15 years ago when I liked lighthouses.  We lived in Port Huron, Michigan where the oldest surviving lighthouse resides.  Now, I live inland but I still have the towels and the plates that my mother-in-law gave me.

A few Christmases ago, my husband’s aunt gifted everyone in the family a pair of knitted slippers.  She bought them at the church bazaar from a friend.   Every family member had a different color or color combination.  It was amusing to see all 20 of us on Christmas Eve wearing knitted booties with our goin-to-meetin’ clothes on. 

I must admit that I find them delightful.  I call them my foot blankies.  I’m amazed at how warm my feet stay while wearing these booties.  At all times, my feet are as warm and cozy as your body gets when it is curled up underneath a hand crafted quilt.  Yes, wearing my booties puts a smile on my face.

But…

Pair 1. Blue-Green – The Originals gifted to me from the Aunt-in-law.

Pair 1

Pair 2. Green – Gifted to me from the Aunt-in-law because I said how nice they were and that I could use another pair.

Pair 3. Yellow – Gifted to me from my mother-in-law because I said I wanted a pair to keep at her house so that I wouldn’t have to remember to pack them everytime.

Pair 4. Maroon – Loaned permanently to me from my mother-in-law because pair 3 was in the wash or got taken home or… I’m not really sure.  She said I could have them.

Pair 5. Yes. Pair 5.  I think my mother-in-law is looking to give me a pair to match every outfit.  These were brown but it turns out that my husband’s sister-in-law needed bigger ones, I needed smaller ones, she wanted brown, I prefered blue.   So, we switched. (After the mother-in-law had gone to bed, of course) 

The Sister-in-law's

 

Currently, Pairs 3 and 4 reside at my mother-in-law’s house.  Pairs 1,2, and 5 reside at my house. 

While I appreciate my mother-in-law giving me a gift, I wonder, how many pairs of slippers does a girl need?

2 Comments

Filed under personality flaws

2 responses to “Don’t Tell Anyone What You Like, Ever!

  1. I forgot to mention that I also possess over 500 Christmas songs. I only bought the first few CDs.

  2. Pingback: Pre-present « A Rose By Any Other Name Blog

Leave a Reply

