Year 39 Goals

(I wrote this a few weeks ago but had other things I wanted to post first)

It was a few years ago on my birthday that I got disgusted with what I was doing to myself.  Since then I’ve viewed the beginning and the end of the year by my birthday.  It just so happens that my birthday is in December so it makes it pretty convenient to be on a fairly similar calendar as everyone else. 

I’ve had my birthday.  Year 38 was pretty much a fail.  I didn’t complete a single personal goal I set for myself.  (Although, chances are that I did complete the 500 miles but since I didn’t do a good job of tracking my actual miles this year because of failure to complete any of my other goals… I don’t have proof, just a feeling.)

I’ve been thinking over some things and trying to learn from the mistakes I made in Year 38.  I have decided to try things a little differently this year.  First, I am putting together a mission statement of sorts.  I am going to focus on implementing ideas or behaviors that will help me overcome the issues I developed this year.  Then each month I will set some goals that will help me implement this mission.

Y39 Mission statements

1. No mileage goal – I tend to focus too much on the mileage and not enough on proper training or just running for enjoyment.  I am going to put variety back into my running.  This includes inclines, sprints and records.  Instead of setting up a mileage goal I will aim to run at least three times a week with one run a long run.

2. Teach my children how to eat properly – My kids are blessed with fast metabolisms but that doesn’t mean that it gives them the right to eat two bowls of ice cream, candy, cookies and cake in one day.  First, I will teach them by example.  Second, I will teach them by moderation.  I will allow special treats only in moderation.  Third, I will teach them the joy of healthy alternatives.  Seriously, I remember that I used to love ants on a log (celery with peanut butter with raisins on top).

3. Holding myself accountable – I have realized that my food addiction has lately become a full-blown issue.  I’m bingeing, depressed, angry, deflated and starting to want to hide away from the world.  In a weird twisted way, I have begun to use this addiction as a justifiable excuse to continue acting this way.  I have acknowledge that I have a problem.  Now, I have to acknowledge that I have to put in the effort to stop it.  I have to acknowledge that I have the power and that I need to use it. 

4. Financial – There are better ways to do things.  Better eating will result in a better financial situation.  A better financial situation will result in money for clothes that I will need when I lose the weight!

5. Structure – When I’m on a roll, I roll with it… for about five days.  I’m a classic Monday – Friday dieter.  Then I blow it on the weekend.  I’m lacking structure on the weekends.  I started a Weekend Improvement Project last year but I never really improved any of my weekends.  This year, I am going to work on developing better structure on weekends so that I have a better chance of success 7, 14, 21, or even 28 days straight.   

In summary

Run for fun, be a parent about food, be accountable, be financially fiscal, and build a solid foundation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Barefoot, personality flaws, running, Vibram Five Fingers, Weight loss

Leave a Reply

