The Hamster vs. Bizzaro Lady

I lucked out when the treadmill at the hotel broke. The front desk clerk offered me a one day pass to a local health club. I needed to burn some calories so I was willing to go the extra mile.

Goodness gracious, this health club was a beauty. It had a row of treadmills for as far as the eye could see. There was not one but three different weights areas, and more, but I didn’t have time to find out exactly what, I just knew. This was the kind of health club I dream of being a member of but have never had access to and wouldn’t be able to afford it anyway. I had a one day pass to gym paradise.

I made use of the indoor track that circled above the basketball court and passed in front of the treadmills and weights. Although I was in paradise, I didn’t know how the management would feel about visitors running in the bare, so I kept my Merrells on. This decision was reaffirmed when I noticed the Crossfit chick in the VFFs. Is it me, or do all Crossfit chicks dress exactly the same?

It took me a few laps around the track to feel comfortable and find my form. Initially, I was counting laps but when I started doing math in my head I figured I’d enjoy myself more if I just lost myself in the music. Before long, I felt like I was a NASCAR driver speeding through the long stretches and pressing the forces of physics through the corners.

I noted that one of the guys running on the treadmill watched me run past on every lap. He had a strange sort of look on his face as though he wondered what bizzaro runs like crazy around a small track with a near hysterical grin on her face. I’m sure he was waiting for me to crack at any minute.

I noted he was watching the bizzaro lady because I, in turn, was watching the hamsters. I didn’t care what they thought of me because all I could wonder is how they could stare into space, running in the same place, at the same speed when I was just one foot away having a blast. Those hamster could have used a dose of Run Smiley.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll soon assume the form of a hamster myself. Its just that, I mean, it’s not like it was a contest, but I’m pretty sure I won.

Leave a comment

Filed under minimalist shoes, running, travel

Leave a Reply

