What Am I Doing?

I stood entranced, listening to the hum of the thermostat light, asking myself, “what am I doing?”
20111121-220647.jpg

I pushed the light light button again to see the thermostat read 63 degrees F.

It’s not like 63 degrees F is an unusual temperature in our house these days. It’s just that for one moment I questioned my own sanity.

63 degrees F. Voluntarily, we are living home with an average daytime temperature of 63 degrees F. A layer of dull ash sits in the bottom of the wood stove. The dust continues to settle without threat of combustion on the heater coils of the furnace.

It isn’t so much the 63 deg F temperature stuns me as the fact that I now consider it a comfortable temperature. I recall a time in my young twenties when I constantly complained to my then-boyfriend that his roommate, the home owner, was extremely rude to keep his house at a frigid 65 degrees F when guests (girlfriends) where there! I made a point of walking around his house wrapped inside of a blanket. Now, when my husband offers to build a fire, I rush in front of the stove wielding a roll of newspapers screeching for him to “Get Back! Wait just five minutes longer!”

3 Comments

Filed under Lessons learned

3 responses to “What Am I Doing?

  1. You crack me up! How much longer do you think you’ll last? And how many toes will you lose:) ?

    • For clarification, we are using the wood stove in the evening to keep the house from falling below 61 or 62 degrees. However, in previous years, we would run the wood stove for most of the day keeping the house at 70 – 74 degrees F. This year we wait until evening and only burn it for a couple of hours. So, although we are using heat, we are making an effort to limit that use to what is necessary. It’s surprising how little is necessary when you make conservation a priority.

  2. Penny

    66 degrees during the day, 62 at night. It’s chilly! I STILL don’t like it, but I like the electric bill better than when I keep it where I want it. I’m sitting right now with a blanket on my lap as I type! BRRRRR!

Leave a Reply

