Insanity Is As Insanity Does

“Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.”
I’d like to give credit to the originator of this quote but it appears to be in question. It may be Narcotics Anonymous or Rita Mae Brown, or Ben Franklin or Albert Einstein. There is also some debate on the intelligence of using this quote. I think this post shows you that using my intellect is out of the question.

How many times have I started a “diet” and expected the pounds to just go away? How many times have I continued bad eating habits and expected the scale to say I’ve been doing the “right” thing? How many times have I thought that starting a diet on Monday will be the magic moment that will allow me to shed all this unwanted weight?

It’s insane and stupid to think that I can eat one more bowl of popcorn because I am for sure going to change my habits tomorrow and the melted butter on this popcorn will just melt off me.

You know what? Tomorrow never seems to come. It’s so close that I use ‘tomorrow’ as an excuse…a crutch for today. I repeatedly use this crutch every day. EVERY. DAY.

I think I’ve lost touch with reality.

Reality is that I eat crap regularly. Reality is that I gained weight. Reality is that I will very soon weigh the same as I did eight years ago before my big twenty pound loss. Reality is that I can not wait for tomorrow, no matter what day of the week it will be.

It’s time to do something different. To do something sane. To do it today.

1 Comment

Filed under personality flaws, Weight loss

One response to “Insanity Is As Insanity Does

  1. Kzoo Penny

    Your body looks much more toned. And you HAVE learned a lot since then about healthy living. Keep on keeping’ on. Keep on quitting. It’s all we can do.

Leave a Reply

