Serenity Prayer

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference.

I cannot rescind calories consumed, choices made, or self sabotage; I may adjudicate healthy options regardless of the substances’ sources; and I should not let the past determine my future. Too often, I surrender to thoughts that push me into standard consumer behavior. I resist calling attention to myself fearful that my requests will leave an impression of someone who is pretentious. In social settings, I consume excess food too often because I don’t want someone else’s work to be regarded as wasteful. This continuous behavior creates a paltry food cycle that can only be cancelled when I hold firm to proper choices.

Today has only 24 hours, tomorrow has only 24 hours; persistent exercise is an effective means to healthy living; and Rome was not built in a day. The mantra is “Do it today”. I must remember that what must be done today is one healthy step in a lifetime journey. I am solving one portion of the overall formula that leads to success. Tomorrow is another part of the formula. I have anxiety that I am not exercising enough or doing the wrong exercise. I must remember that all activity is good, a variety of activity is good, but most importantly to keep active. Breaking down large goals into manageable daily goals will build a body worthy of a Roman goddess.

I cannot remove stretch marks created in the expansion of my waistline and development of my children; I can reduce the percentage of fat and increase the percentage of muscle; and physical beauty goes beyond the skin. Those stretch marks are a reminder of permanent consequences that can happen when I’m not living a healthy life and if those are my only consequences than I am a very lucky person. When I build strength, I create grace, poise, and balance. All attributes we use when describing the classic beauty.

1 Comment

Filed under Weight loss

One response to “Serenity Prayer

Leave a Reply

