Easter Eggs

It started a few years ago, no, scratch that (ha, ha, pun intended even if you don’t get it yet) it started when I was a child. Probably the biggest Easter event in my childhood home was decorating Easter Eggs. My mom, my sister, Penny, and I would decorate at a minimum one dozen hard boiled eggs each. Then when we were done with the hard boiled eggs we would decorate every raw egg in the house. We had multiple types of dyes, dyeing tools, stained fingers, and beauty to behold. We spent hours on our creations.

So, it’s really no surprise to me that when my mother-in-law described the eggs her mother used to decorate, I was all for the challenge. My mother-in-law creates the traditional onion skin colored eggs. It’s akin to a tie-dye method where she places greens, leaves, or pine needles on a cheese cloth, ties it around a white egg, and boils it in a bath of onion skins. Liene, cousin-in-law, in France has some fantastic examples of this method on her blog here. There is another traditional, less common, decoration, which is to take an egg and scratch a design into the brown stain. This was the challenge I opted for.

Yesterday, my MIL designed, tied, and dyed her eggs, plus two all brown ones for me.

20120408-100916.jpg

The first year, I tried several tools for scratching the designs and settled on a straight pin. (which reminds me that I’ll need to buy her a corsage for Mother’s Day so that I have a new sharpened pin for next year’s eggs) The large pins for corsages are easier to handle and stronger to take the pressure.

On the day of scratching, I wander around the house until a design catches my eye.

20120408-101552.jpg

we’ll see how well I did…

20120408-101644.jpg

20120408-101700.jpg

Latvian designs are very geometric which is probably why my mathematical brain likes them so much. However, it is difficult to create symmetrical, geometrical designs on a surface that is rounded and narrower at one end. My portions never look quite right. This shears (inside joke, right, Jeanne?) was the best that I have done so far.
Although, I was pleased with the symeritry on the first one, I thought it lacked something.

20120408-110956.jpg

A glutton for punishment, I started on the next egg. The shell was harder, the pin duller, and the design was just not coming out right.

20120408-111154.jpg

20120408-111202.jpg

Because I can not leave well enough alone, I continued to add additional designs to take away from the failure of my second design. It was only then that I realized how much the added borders and shapes enhanced the look of the egg. So, I went back to the first egg and added more geometric shapes.

20120408-111456.jpg

20120408-111509.jpg

MIL was proud enough to take these to baznīcu (church) to show off to her friends.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Easter Eggs

  1. Coloring eggs is a rite of Spring. This year we missed the chance to onion skin dye our eggs. Blame it on me for getting farm fresh brown eggs. Next, we’ll make a trek to TR or Chicago for some exeptional support with egg dying. Thank you for the ideas and inspiration! Labi!

  2. Beautiful! I never had the patience for scratching… The first raksts, the saulīte, is perfect. It symbolizes the sun, and is round, and these things are all tied in with eggs, Easter, the start of spring etc. And your second, the auseklīts is just as lovely. I’ll have to ask your MIL how she got them that dark brown. Thanks for the mention, and hope you had a wonderful Easter!

  3. I have never quite had the patience (or interest, really) to work so hard on coloring eggs. In fact, this year, we didn’t dye any eggs at all, although the girls put stickers and things on them. I figured, they were already colored, courtesy of the chickens, and humans have nothing on nature. (ya, it’s a cop out, but it’s my lie, and I’m sticking to it!) Bloggy post soon to follow…..

    I’m glad you enjoy it, though. They are very cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

