Reason #1: Pain Killer

Usually when I list a reason for this or that I pick a random number between 1 and 1000 because my reasons may or may not be equally important and I think it takes too much time to organize and prioritize my reasons. However, I believe I have found my number 1 reason to lose weight.

Reason #1: Pain Killer

If I lose weight, it will kill the pain. I’m not talking about emotional pain. I’m talking keep-you-up-at-night physical pain.

Hips, tips, and more
I’ve had chronic issues with my hip for about the last decade. Christmas night, my hip was a little achy from hours sitting around the table enjoying the company of my family in my home. At 3:30 am, I was wide awake in hip agony. That’s hardly how I wanted to wrap up Christmas. When I’m on the light side, this doesn’t happen.

Often in the morning, my hands ache down to my finger tips from inflation or water retention. Whatever, it’s not pleasant to feel like your fingers belong to the Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man.

20130103-151210.jpg
What’s more is that I’ve been living with a constant gut ache since December 28th. Almost a decade ago, when I followed the Atkins diet, I realized that I stopped getting a post-meal gut ache. I’ve been eating a lot of carbs lately and suffering the consequences.

So, maybe all this is caused by dehydration or gluten or some other injury/disease. This isn’t about how to resolve those issues, it’s about why. The extra weight aggravates or causes these problems. Taking that weight off will be more effective than two Advil.

The physical pain of being over weight is my #1 reason. It’s better than fitting into a bikini (Reason #789) It’s better than showing up Ms. So-n-so at a party/reunion/etc (Reason #436) It’s even better than just liking how I look. (Reason #71)

3 Comments

Filed under Lessons learned, personality flaws, Weight loss

3 responses to “Reason #1: Pain Killer

  1. I am experiencing the same constant gut ache. Where to begin?

  2. Gluten. Get rid of it. Not only will it help with the gut, but it will help the inflammation, too. Google inflammatory foods- it’s astonishing. But definitely start with the gluten. When I’m heading into a flare, the first thing I do is get rid of it. Helps immeasurably.

    Since it’s been a while, how are things going?

Leave a Reply

