A Different Point Of View

My breath was coming out in short, loud huffs. I wanted to look at the runners next to me to see of they thought I was about to collapse but I was too busy focusing on not collapsing. My sister would later ask me how it went. My reply would be that the only thing I did right was show up. I didn’t train, wasn’t eating right, hadn’t gone to bed before midnight all week, de-hydrated, and still weighed 15 pounds more than my last racing weight.

With the huffs, the heavy knees, and questioning my choice of foot ware, it was time for a mantra…

Focus on what you can do.

Repeat.

Focus on what you can do.

(Cue the music)
What could I do?
What could I do?
I got all choked up and threw down my gun
And I called him my pa, and he called me his son
And I came away with a different point of view…

Yes, I started singing A Boy Named Sue, although, only in my head because singing out loud would have required precious and in short supply breathing.

I came away with a different point of view…

Instead of looking at how poorly I was doing I had to take a new view. Ok, I was in poor shape but I was running. As bad as it felt, it felt good.

Running. It gives me a different point of view, especially about myself. I think it’s true for so many that come into running a little later in life. They think they know themselves. Too lazy. Too fat. Too slow. Too old. I ran and found out that what I thought either wasn’t true or it didn’t matter. I could run.

2 – 5K races completed in 5 days. 30:50 and 29:51 (right in the middle of my age group)
11 days until the next one. Training goal- 5 runs. Time goal sub-29 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under exercise, Michigan, racing, running

Leave a Reply

