Racing Goal

In addition to wanting a faster 5K time, running another half marathon, and maybe someday an Ultra, I’d really like to take a racing photo that’s good enough to want to buy.

I wish they’d put up a sign 50 yards before the photographer saying “Smile” or “Try to not look like you are dying.” Or better yet “DO. NOT. BLINK for 50 yards.”

20130508-095500.jpg
Admittedly, it would help my picture if I didn’t approach the race as though I was going to end up a hot sweaty mess. I looked in the porta-potty plastic mirror prior to the race. I looked exactly like someone who’d been partying till 1 am, slept in her running clothes so she wouldn’t have to deal with it at 6 am, and who was as greasy as if she’d already run 3 miles. All true except I hadn’t run 3 miles, yet. Really, what kind of picture can I expect with that kind of starting point?

This is how a high school friend, who knows how to do it right AND beat me by 8 seconds, looked at the finish line only with sunglasses.

20130508-101150.jpgI know! She looked awesome. I’m so jealous, plus, she beat me!

For further proof on how far I have to go, this is me dressed up for the Kentucky derby party the day before the race.

20130508-101441.jpg

Have you ever had a racing photo so good you had to buy it?

3 Comments

Filed under personality flaws, racing

3 responses to “Racing Goal

  1. NOW I get the hat! I saw it on fb and didn’t understand what a costume party had to do with anything 🙂

  2. pjchaney

    I so feel your pain. All of my photos look I’m dying too. So a new goal to set: a good race photo!

Leave a Reply

