National Running Day

I lowered my feet to the floor using a make-shift rope from torn bed sheets with the mantra, “I SWEAR you’ll feel better afterward. (Provided you survive getting out of bed)” We have a new pillow top mattress that is precariously high off the floor. I worry that if I ever roll out of bed during the night that I won’t survive the fall… unless I hit terminal velocity and land like a cat. This fear of a high bed maybe abnormally high at 5:30 am. Yes, these days I need a mantra just to get out of bed.

45 or so minutes later I stopped the activity on RunKeeper with a total run of 3.75 miles. Yes, I survived getting out of bed and completed the run. No doubt, I did feel better.

Later, I got on Facebook to snoop into other people’s lives only to see all my running friends talk about National Running Day. I didn’t know it was NRD and I felt a little out of the loop, but, at the same time, I was glad that I didn’t need to know it was NRD to be motivated to run.

I hope you were pleasantly surprised, like me, to know you went running on National Running Day too.

20130605-215745.jpg
Today’s running shirt.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lessons learned, running

Leave a Reply

