Christmaschristmaschristmas

Sing with me!

It’s Christ-mas, Christ-mas
Christmaschristmaschrist-mas
Chr-its-mas!

Editor’s note – here’s a great Latvian cultural blog that will be celebrating 24 days of Christmas Baltic style! Priecīgus Ziemassvētku, Liene!

Ok, it’s Christmas time, not actually Christmas but I was anxiously waiting for Dec 1st as though it was Dec 25th.

I’m over the hill and acting like a child from 1 to 99. How did this happen?

Perhaps it was the US Capitol Christmas tree viewing? I recently read a facebook post that flew by on my news feed as I was scrolling for celebrity gossip that children are more successful if they experience delayed gratification. It was the “you can have one cookie now or two cookies if you wait an hour” test. I postulate, although I was dunked into the Christmas spirit when the US Capitol tree came to town and because I prohibited celebrating early, that my excitement was intensified by anticipation for Thanksgiving to be done! The feeling reminds me of the good ol’ Christmas mornings of my youth when I’d bask in the overflowing glow of the Christmas tree while waiting for everyone else to wake up.

Perhaps I’m overly excited about spending Christmas at my house, with my tree, with presents decorated my way? (please, husband, don’t use a whole roll of wrapping paper on a jewelry box). We spend nearly every holiday out-of-state. Usually, to accommodate all the family gatherings and obligations, we have to leave days before each holiday. As a result, I don’t get a chance to share many of the wonderful things my parents did for me with my children. It won’t be much longer before the magic will fade for them. Older Kid is already nonchalant about decorations. I feel this year has to be a ringer (Ref. Polar Express Sleigh Bell).

Perhaps I’m just a holiday freak?

…I figure that statement doesn’t require any further explanation.

So Sing with me!

All I really want from you, is your beau-ti-ful Christ-mas lights
Learn more about the song Beautiful Christmas Lights here
Younger Kid has taken over the outdoor lights. I guess, I can’t have everything my way.

IMG_4602.JPG

IMG_4604.JPG

IMG_4586.JPG

1 Comment

Filed under family, wonderland

One response to “Christmaschristmaschristmas

  1. Love the lights! Love the snow! And thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

